July 6, 2017: FTP Test day…

So today was FTP test day… Not entirely happy with my performance. I did gain some watts from the last time, looking at about 280watts for FTP was hoping for a little more. Probably the hard part is I’m not exactly sure what kinds of gains are reasonable or expected. Knee pain was less then it was yesterday so I am a bit hopeful that it really was more of a muscle issue rather then joint.

So what is the FTP test protocol that I followed

  1. Warm up well for 20-30 minutes with 3-4×60 second accelerations to the pace you plan to hold in the 20 minute TT. Take 2-3 minutes rest between the accelerations
  2. 5 minutes rest before starting the Time Trial.
  3. Then do a 20 minute TT pacing yourself aiming to start at the same wattage as you end with.
  4. Remainder of time ride easy zones 1-2 only.

Take the result from the 20 min and multiply by .95 to get the FTP. My goal was to try to hold as close to 300 watts as I could for the whole time. Really looks to me like I can hold that power for about 15 min and then the power drops off and I really have to keep standing and kicking.

Leave a Reply

