July 1, 2017: Big Gear Endurance Moderate Effort

Ride Zone 2-3 today. Use big gears only keeping your cadence between 70 and 80 for most of the ride. For any climbs you encounter, push even a bigger gear at 60-70 rpm.

Climbs I encounter, ha ha ha. Really, so probably blew the zone out of the water a bit here since I went up mount lemon and decided to play Sam the YoYo. What is this game you speak of? Well, Eric and I start together and I ride up the hill at a slightly faster pace and he tells me where to go to turn around, and off I go as he grinds up the hill. Then I turn around and roll down to him and then we play again, over and over again… Intervals of unknown length…

Worked on nutrition again today, was a bit of a struggle to get the required calories down, certainly going to have to rethink a bit here. I’m thinking can’t go strait water am going to have to have some calories in there as well. Probably try scratch which should help provide a calorie base that I can build on with gels and the like.

Well looking at the numbers it looks like I was in zones 2-3 for about 2:30 min of the ride, zone 4 for about 1:30 so maybe not that far off, probably should of held back a bit more on the climbing efforts but it was hot so I was maybe in a hurry to get up high where it gets cooler.

Leave a Reply

